Book Trailers-To use or Not to use

I’ve watched book trailers. Some I enjoyed others didn’t grab my interest. That’s the purpose. Grabbing the casual reader’s interest so they follow the link and read more about the book. I thought the medium felt out of my league. These authors had money to spend or they were techies who loved to make movies. I was wrong.

Thanks to my FaceBook writing groups, I discovered Fivrr. This business website offers a connection of want/need to know how and budget. People who have a skill, offer that service at somewhat reasonable price. That means people like me, who have no budget and might be on a fixed income, can afford to buy the service they need or want.

We (writers) all want to produce the best product out there, and that can cost an arm and a leg, we need both. After searching the site, I discovered a number of the people offering to make book trailers. They all charged about the same price. I had a couple names referred to me and checked out their samples. They ranged from $5-$50. I thought to myself for the cost of a tank of gas, I could have a book trailer. I could save a month of latte’s for a medium priced trailer.

There are pages of samples to look at. I first looked at all the samples that fit my genre or something similar and their prices. I picked two, a low price from the referral and one that had a good amount of positive reviews. The second offered a quick sample based on my blurb.

When I received the sample, within hours. I felt elated. It was beyond my expectations. We had a few back and forth dialogues and I bought the “gig” as they call them. I’m a creative person. I love movies and I have a eye for visual storytelling, at least I think I do. I put my vision out for this person as a guide letting them fill in what they found to fit.

After a few days I received the product for approval. This video fit my narrative. I recognize the fact this isn’t a MOVIE. This person didn’t go out and film a trailer based on my book. They took the concept and adapted it to the best of their ability. They found footage that simulated the feel. Now if someone has read my book then saw the trailer, they could pick out the things that didn’t exactly fit. I’m sure they would say it fit the general essence of the book.

I haven’t received the first trailer I ordered for a lesser price. I thought the video they produced for another author was quite good. I was impressed. I gave them the same script I gave to the other “gigster” (my made up name, if they can do it, so can I). I wonder what I’ll get from them?

Below is the link to the book trailer. I hope you watch it and are intrigued to buy the book. It’s available on both Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Beneath the Ice by C. M. Weaver

https://fb.watch/7vCsxbZjAt/

Leave a comment